National Coalition on Child Safety and Wellbeing

The National Coalition on Child Safety and Wellbeing (National Coalition) comprises non-government organisations and researchers who are committed to advancing the national campaign on child safety and wellbeing in Australia. Families Australia convenes the National Coalition.

View presentations: 2020 Annual Meeting of the National Coalition on Child Safety & Wellbeing

A Steering Group is the principal representative group for the National Coalition. Steering Group members also serve on the National Forum for Protecting Australia’s Children, a high-level group that also comprises senior Commonwealth, State and Territory Government officials. The National Forum meets 2-3 times per annum to oversee progress with the National Framework for Protecting Australia’s Children 2009-2020 (National Framework).

Steering Group members were appointed by the broader National Coalition at the outset of the National Framework to represent a range of areas, including research, peak bodies, out-of-home care, family support, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and communities. Membership of the Steering Group has evolved in the course of the National Framework to ensure that representation aligns with Action Plan priorities.

National Coalition Steering Group members are:

  • Mr Jamie Crosby, Chief Executive Officer, Families Australia (National Coalition convenor and co-chair of the National Forum)
  • Ms Catherine Liddle, CEO, SNAICC-National Voice for our Children
  • Professor Leah Bromfield, Co-Director, Australian Centre for Child Protection, University of South Australia
  • Ms Annette Michaux, Director, Parenting Research Centre
  • Ms Bev Orr OAM, President, Australian Foster Care Association
  • Ms Mary Sayers, Chief Executive Officer, Children and Young People with Disability Australia
  • Ms Jacqui Reed, Chief Executive Officer, CREATE Foundation
  • Mr Richard Cooke, Chief Executive Officer, NAPCAN
  • Professor Daryl Higgins, Director, Institute of Child Protection Studies, Australian Catholic University
  • Mr Tony Pietropiccolo AM, Director, Centrecare Inc. (WA)
  • Mr Simon Schrapel AM, Chief Executive, Uniting Communities (SA)

How can we join the National Coalition?

Membership of the National Coalition is free. Members receive quarterly e-bulletins. Please email Families Australia ( for more information.

National Coalition membership stands at over 200 organisations, consultants and academics.
The list of Members can be accessed here.